Come . . .


lighthouse3In response to a Facebook challenge, this morning I took a walk out on the break wall to snap a few photos of our local Battery Point lighthouse. My challenge was to post a black and white photo onto my Facebook page for the next five days in a row. I really love taking pictures, so I thought this would definitely be a fun challenge to participate in.

The vivid colors of grey-blue sky contrasting the red-toned roof of the lighthouse would make for quite the beautiful photo, but then again, the challenge was for black and white photos. To me, the thought of removing all the color from the scene would make the shot seem lifeless and dull. So I patiently waited and watched the lens to light up so I could quickly snap a photo while the light on top of the lighthouse was shining brightly.

As I stood there in front of the lighthouse, the following scripture came to mind:  “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.” John 8:12 I thought about the boats out on the water and how that very light was a guide to many a mariner out on the ocean. A guide that would lead his boat safely back to the harbor.

I have never been out on the ocean in a boat, but as a child my dad owned a small cruiser boat and we would occasionally take out on Lake Michigan for a little recreational fun and fishing. A time or two on our boating excursions, my dad drove out pretty far on the lake and eventually the shore was longer visible from the boat. As I child, I remember that being quite an eerie feeling to be surrounded by nothing but water.

This reminded me that just as the lighthouse is a guide for the mariner, Jesus Christ is the guide for our lives. The one who created life is the light and is also the one who knows best how to guide the vessel in the open waters and how to bring it safely to shore. When we follow the light we have no need to fear because we can trust in the one who is leading.

As I stood there on the break wall listening to the crashing waves interwoven with the blaring sound of the foghorn, it was very peaceful and yet powerful, serene and yet persistent in its nature. In the same way that the light becomes no longer visable in the fog or storm, the mariner then listens for the foghorn. As I stood and listened to the horn, it was as if it was a beckoning call. . .Come . . . this is The Way. In the same way God invites us all to come to him. Come follow me . . . (Matt. 4:19). His word proclaims that “He is the way, the truth and the life (John 16:6).

God didn’t create us to leave us in the dark or to be tossed back and forth by ceaseless waves of life, but gives us the light of his Word as a guide for living. The Bible is Gods voice, His love letter to us and it is a guide for knowing Him and navigating life. God’s voice echos on the pages of scripture, I love you, I want you. . . Come . . . “come to me all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28) . . . Let me guide you safely home.

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world . . .He came to the earth in human form, a precious baby, born of a virgin (Luke 1:27).

that he gave his only begotten son . . . His purpose for coming was for you . . . and me (John 10:10). He came to do his father’s will (John 5:43), to pay the price we couldn’t pay with the only sacrifice that would do (Romans 8:3), the innocent blood of his one and only son.

That whosoever believe in Him should not perish . . .He did come to rule from a throne but to serve and to give his life as a ransom for many (Mark 10:45). We have a choice either to accept or to reject him.

But have everlasting life” . . . He defeated death and rose on the third day as the scriptures foretold (1 Cor. 15:4). When we choose to follow him, we pass from death to life, old things have passed away and all things become new (2 Cor. 5:17). Our new reality becomes eternity with God our creator (John 3:16).

Father God thank you for your amazing love for us. Thank you for sending your son Jesus to pay the price for our sin. Thank for your Living Word which gives light to our path. Guide and direct our steps as we seek to follow you. Thank you Sweet Jesus for who you are and all you do. To you be the glory both now and forever. AMEN

In the beginning the Word already existed. The Word was with God, and the Word was God. He existed in the beginning with God. God created everything through him, and nothing was created except through him. The Word gave life to everything that was created, and his life brought light to everyone. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it. John 1:1-5

2 thoughts on “Come . . .

  1. Yolanda says:

    Amen Jenny! God’s Word is living and breathing… I told my little ones that it IS just a book… I could throw it away or on the ground. It could burn in a house fire or I could loose it somewhere… just like any book out there. (My heart races even to think of doing such things to His Word) But there is no other book! No other book that I can pick up, and draw it close to my chest in an embrace and feel as though my heartbeat is close to another! As I close my eyes and hold God’s Word close, I feel as I used to when I would hold one of my babies close. I can feel what seems like an actual breathing creature in my arms. I have such love and adoration for this “Simple Book”. It has become so sweet a treasure to me. And the fact that my soul can actually feel it when I hold it close, is no small thing! And as I tell my kids these things and they see me hold it close… I open my eyes and see them gazing up at me with mouths wide open. In awe they both asked… “How do you do that Mommy? ” I just smiled and said “I don’t. God does. Remember that still, small voice we talk about?” And oh, what a time we had speaking of how God is on the inside with us! And how we must learn to listen! Listen, for that still, small voice… and learn to feel Him when He touches us.

Leave a Reply

