Walking by Faith


reflectionThis morning I was out for my typical run, trying to get in a bit of exercise while enjoying the beautiful sunshine. I soon came to where the road turns and there in the corner, is a big reflector mirror (the kind used to see around blind corners). It was covered in a thick morning dew. I thought to myself, “Well what good is that mirror to motorist now? It’s useless all covered in dew, you can’t see a thing through it. So I thought I’d do my good deed and I proceeded to walk over to the mirror and wipe off the dew for any future vehicle traffic that would be passing through.

We also have one of those same mirrors on the corner where I live and I know how useful it is. The corner coming into our house is a blind corner also. I don’t know how many times, before installing that mirror that we almost had a head-on collision with someone coming around the bend. You just can’t see. I was always afraid for my kid’s safety and told them never to play around that corner. If you’re either going to fast, or not fully paying attention, a collision could happen so easily. Therefore, a few years back my husband and I purchased one of those reflective mirrors to put on the corner and it has helped tremendously.

I know that sometimes in my faith I just wish that I just had one of those big reflector mirror that would show me what was around the corner, don’t you? Unfortunately, as Christ followers we are called to walk by faith. Walking by faith means trusting God even when you don’t see down the road or know what’s around the corner. Walking by faith requires fully trusting in the one who is leading.

I know in my own faith there have been many times I have had doubt, I’ve been discouraged or I’ve managed to mess things up pretty good and wonder where God was leading me. But it all came down to, “Would I trust Him or not?” One thing I know for certain is God’s faithful. His Word is proof of that. The Bible says, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8) and his ways are unchanging.

Thankfully God’s doesn’t leave us totally unequipped for the road ahead. He gives us His Word. In Psalm 119:105 it says: “Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet and the light for my path.” That verse alone shows me that sometimes God just gives enough light for the footing directly under my feet. This is where our trust needs to kick in. When I look to Him and His Word, I can rest in Him, trusting He is leading the way and that all of His ways are good. I find that I would much rather trust God than myself. Who better than my creator knows me better that me? Because of this I can trust God and His plans for my life.

We come to Christ in faith and we continue to follow Him through faith. Circumstances have a way of continually testing our faith, but when we trust God through all things . . . He proves faithful. He never leaves our side and is willing to show us the way as we put our trust in Him.

Father God, thank you for your precious Word. Thank you that in this life journey, we are not alone. Thank you for your Holy Spirit which is our helper, comforter and guide. When difficulties and doubts arise, help us to cling to you and to walk by faith. Teach us Lord and guide us unto all truth. Thank  you for who you are and for all you do. To you be the Glory both now and forever. AMEN

2 Corinthians 5:7 For we walk by faith, not by sight.

James 1:5-6 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But he must ask in faith without doubting . . .

Jeremiah 33:3 Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

Leave a Reply

