Working Together


99f0cbdf6e6d80850bde7210eb55aafd_m

Public confession day. I doubt this is news flash for some of you that know me well, but I can tend to be pretty narrow minded at times. The reason I share this is because I believe this is an area that God has slowly been working on in my heart for some time now. I am truly thankful for a mighty God who is helping me to rid myself of me and helping me to adjust my perspective and the way I see others.

First of all God reminds me that we are all a work in progress and that none of us have got it together (especially me, teehee). We are all sinners, saved by God’s amazing grace (Eph. 2:28) and because of God’s grace towards us, we must extend grace to others. God also reminds me that He is God, and we most definitely are not. Even though at times we all try to be our own little providence’s by continually trying to figure things out on our own or running on ahead of God and doing things our way instead of His. God wants our total trust (Prov. 3:5), total submission (James 4:7) and total obedience (Deut. 30:10) so that we can walk in the fullness of all that he has for us (John 10:10).

We all come at life from a different perspective. We all tend to see and react differently based on our life experiences. We all have different upbringings, different experiences in life and different personality traits that have shaped us into the people we are today. Therefore (stating the obvious), we are all just plain “different.” Praise God for that right?

The diversity of people reminds me of the creativity of our amazing God. God created us all as unique individuals. We all have different gifts, talents and abilities. We also have different personality traits and that make us uniquely us. We all know God doesn’t do anything haphazardly. He is a God of order, purpose and reason. He could have made us alike or like little robots, but how boring that would be. I think He had something much more creative in mind being the original and amazing creator he is.

Could it be that He created us different so that we would have to learn how to get along? That’s a funny thought huh? In learning to love others and get along, especially with those who are hard to love or different from us, we become more like him who loves us in spite of us because we are His beloved creation. In learning to love as he does, God transforms our hearts and minds. Love requires selflessness as we look to the needs and well being of others versus our own (an area I still need lots of help in).

God made the way for us to have a right relationship with him by dying on the cross for our sins. And in doing so he paved the way that we can have right relationships with one another. We need to learn to die to self for the well-being of others. The bible teaches us that a friend, loves at all times (Prov. 17:17). and that love does no harm to it’s neighbor (Romans 13:10). These are two verses I readily memorized and recite to help me in relationships with others. It is only through the power of the Holy Spirit working in us that we can we even begin to love others as God does (Romans 5:5).

I’m thankful for the people God has brought into my life who have broadened my horizon of thinking and helped me to see things from a new and different perspective. Through others God has placed in my life, he has taught me many great lessons about people. Here are five that stand out the most: 1)We are all created in His image 2)We are all sinners and in need desperate need of grace 3)We are all equal in His eyes. 4)We all have the same basic needs 5)We all have things that we can learn from one another.

Like the cogs in a watch, in order for the watch to work properly, all the cogs have to be spinning and going in the same direction. Each little nodule on a cog fits perfectly together to make the cog spin and therefore they move the hands on the face of the clock to keep the proper time.

So it is in the body of Christ. We need each other. God made us this way. He is the head and we are the body parts. And truth being, we are only as strong as our weakest part. Because as the bible states, when one part suffers, we all suffer (1 Cor. 12:26). In order to be effective for the purpose Christ designed the church, we all need to work together like the cogs on a clock and in doing so, the body of Christ functions properly.

The greatest tactic of the enemy is to get the different parts of the body working against one another. In doing so we become ineffective for the purpose Christ created the Church. God is love, and loving God means loving others. The bible says, without love, we are nothing and without love, our works amount to nothing.

Jesus Help us to love as you do. Give me an open mind and an open heart to see others as you do. Help me seek to understand before being understood. Thank you for the greatest example of love shown to us on Calvary’s cross. Thank you that you died for my sin so that I may live for you. Help me to live and love through the greatest example provided in Jesus. Help guide me by the truth of your Word and to walk in obedience to it. Fill us full of your Holy Spirit so that we may be your hands and feet in this lost and hurting world and accomplish all that you would have for us. Thank you for who You are and all you do!  To you be the glory both now and forever! AMEN

Philippians 2:1-4 Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

1 John 4:21 And he has given us this command: Anyone who loves God must also love their brother and sister.

Colossians 3:14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

 

Leave a Reply

