Finding His strength in Your Weakness


thecrossBut he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

When I was first married, I worked at a local ambulance company as their bookkeeper.  I  had my own little office in one corner of the building we worked in. All of the clerical offices were separate, but close enough to each other so that us ladies could easily carry on conversations from within our own little offices.

Often times my co-workers would tease me, and say that I was a good fit for the job because I was a very focused person. When they were talking, I often wouldn’t hear a word they said.  If they really wanted to get my attention they would pipe up the tone of their voice and say, “Jennifer’s focused again.”

Funny thing is, I’ve always seen “being focused” as a weakness. I get easily distracted and therefore I am forced to focus to get anything accomplished. The truth is, I can’t cook spaghetti and garlic bread at the same without burning one or the other.

Now I know that  women are supposed to be natural multi-taskers right? Well I’ve come to admit that multi-tasking is not my thing. It’s an area of weakness for me. When it comes to getting a single task completed, I can usually get the job done quickly and efficiently, but give me multiple things to do at one time, and I can easily become quite frazzled.

Lately, the topic of boasting in weakness has been something that the Lord keeps showing me. As Paul states in the above verses of 2 Corinthians, he gladly boasted in his weakness. So what does it actually mean to boast in our weaknesses? Well, when we boast in our weakness we are not pointing to ourselves, but rather to Christ who works in and through our weakness. Christ uses our weakness to manifest His grace to us.

Our natural human tendency can be to hide or be embarrassed about our weakness or to pretend that we are strong, but God wants the opposite from us. He wants us to admit (even brag) about our weakness because as Paul states in 2 Corinthians verse 10, “When I am weak, then am I is strong.” God shows Himself strong in our weaknesses!

Another prime example for me is writing this blog. Some of you may think that because I have a blog, that I love to write.  In all reality, quite the opposite is true. I had difficulty learning to read and was horrible at English and writing in school.  Writing is not something that comes easily or naturally for me, but yet I feel that this is something God want’s me to do. What this means for me is having to bring my weakness before God, and in obedience trust Him to meet and accomplish what I feel He is calling me to do.

Admitting our weakness requires humility, honesty and fosters God dependency. Verse 9 says, “My Grace is sufficient for you, My power is made perfect in weakness.” Our weaknesses keep us humble before God and show us the power of Christ at work for us.

Sometimes we think that God cannot use us because of our limitations or weaknesses. That is a total lie of the enemy who wants to keep us from doing anything that is worthwhile for God’s Kingdom. The opposite is true. When we admit our weaknesses and give God our limitations, we in essence surrender our own self-sufficiency and rely on His all-sufficiency. Rather than struggling in our own energy, effort or talent, we rely on God’s strength and grace to help us in our weakness. We can therefore step out in faith and do what God is calling us to do.

Because of original sin, we are all broken and flawed individuals, and we all have areas of weakness. The amazing thing is, we have an awesome God who loves us, pursues a relationship with us and redeems us from ourselves and our sinfulness. He has a purpose and a plan for each of us and wants to use us to accomplish His purposes.  All He asks is that we step out in faith and surrender ourselves to Him. He can take the good, the bad and the ugly of our lives and transform it into something beautiful for His glory. Our limitations can become limitless in the hands of our all-powerful God!

Father God, thank you for dying for our sin so that we can be made right with You. You see us in our flaws and our weakness and love us just the same. Help us to surrender those things to You so that they can be used by You and for Your glory. Help us to realize that you don’t need us, but You desire us. Thank you for Your amazing love and grace towards us.  To You be the glory both now and forever. AMEN

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us. Ephesians 3:20

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:10

 

Leave a Reply

