Teaching your Children to Fight


sword and shieldFinally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. Ephesians 6:10-17

Today started out as just another routine morning here at our household. The kids were up reading, doing chores, making lunches along with the other normal morning stuff they do at our house while getting ready to leave for school. I was sitting here at the computer finishing up my own morning routine when I heard a little bit of sisterly banter going on in the kitchen. It was obvious that one of my daughters woke up on the wrong side of the bed and everything seemed to be offending her.

Now my kids are old enough and I usually try not to helicopter parent. I typically let them be to see if they can work things out on their own unless I see an urgent need to step in or if one of them comes to me asking for help to bring resolution to a situation. Before I knew it, one of my daughters comes marching in the room where I was and plops down on the couch with a bit of an extended lower lip. The demeanor on her face was obviously a mix of being sad and mad all at the same time.

I asked her what was wrong and she quickly responded, “nothing.” Ok, so that was going nowhere. So I immediately got up from my computer chair and went and sat down beside her and put my arms around her and told her how much I loved her. She didn’t respond so I then went back to my computer desk and retrieved a pamphlet that a dear friend had just given me a few days earlier. It was titled, “You are not Forgotten,” by April Simons. It was an array of encouraging words and corresponding scripture.

I then went over to my daughter and began to read aloud from the pamphlet the things written there. The first was . . . God Believes in You. I then read the corresponding scripture to her. The second was . . . God has great things in store for you. The third . . .that He Loves You. The fourth . . . He is looking out for you, and the fifth . . . He will fight for you. There were twenty-two points in all with some pretty powerful scriptures attached. By the time I was done my daughter got up from the couch and came and gave me a great big hug and said, “Mom I love you so much, thank you.” It melted my heart, and obviously the Word of God had done the same to hers.

As I was driving home after dropping the kids off at school, I was replaying in my mind all that had transpired this morning.  I was just flooded with emotion thinking of just what an amazing God we have, and how powerful His Word is. It was also a strong reminder to me of how we as parents need to be continually equipping our children and teaching them how to fight the good fight of faith and to ward off the attacks of the enemy with the Armor of God.

So often our children are led by their emotions. We serve them well to teach them that we must learn to use our emotions correctly. I just read a quote somewhere this morning that said, “Our feelings should be indicators but never our dictators.” We have Jesus as our perfect example. When he was led out into the wilderness to be tempted, He fought off Satan’s attacks by reciting scripture.  We as parents are not only to teach our children about the armor of God but give real life examples of when and how they can apply those truths and how to fight and win battles.  We serve a faithful God who not only loves us but is on our side and as we look to Him, He gives us the ammunition we need to be victorious in battle! 

Leave a Reply

