Do you have a plan?


goalsWell here we are in the new year, an exciting and refreshing time for new beginnings and new starts. Many have already taken off running with their new established goals, and yet others are still working on theirs with plans to implement them in the near future.

I am one of those still working on mine and I’m still in the working it out phase. Setting goals is not something totally foreign to me. But this year I am doing more that just having goals in my head. I making a game plan and writing them down along with the ways I plan to carry out my goals. I am also working on doing the same with my family.

In the past if you would have asked me if I thought this was important, I would have said, not really. But as I grow in my relationship with the Lord, I am beginning to see the importance of making life plans and writing down the ways in which I plan to implement them into the fabric of my day-to-day life.

I just finished re-reading the account of creation in Genesis. From the very beginning God was a God of order and direction. In his divine plan there was great order to his creation. First he created the world and all the living creatures in it, and then he created man. When he created Adam and Eve, he gave them directions for life, to be fruitful and multiply and to fill the earth. He then placed them in the Garden of Eden and told them to care for it.  He also gave them rules to obey in the garden and we all know how that turned out.

But this goes to show that God designed things with great order and in creating us, he has a plan for each and every one of us too. Jeremiah 29:11 details that for us . . . For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

We also see that God is a God of direction. He didn’t leave his creation to wander aimlessly (although that is a choice we make on our own sometimes). Here once again we see from the beginning that God was always guiding and directing his people, wanting to free them and bring them to a better place, just as he did with the Israelites. He directed them in a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night. Even when man’s poor choice separated them from God, he never left them on their own and he continued to direct and provide for their needs.

As a follower of Christ, God wants the same for us. He wants us to do more than simply get by, he wants us to succeed, to thrive, prosper and to begin to do what he has created us to do.  I believe to do that, we need to be intentional with our lives by making plans and setting goals for our lives because without direction or plans, we tend to wander aimlessly.

For each of us, our goals might look differently depending on where we are in our walk with the Lord.  I believe with prayerful consideration, that God can and will point each of us in the direction he wants us to go. Psalm 32:8 gives us this promise . . . I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you. God promises us His guidance. He is our Emmanuel, God with us. The bible says that God speaks to us through his Word and the Holy Spirit, who teaches us and guides us into all truth (John 14:26).

God is powerful and mighty and as we look to Him and surrender to his will for our lives, he gives us the guidance and direction we so desperately need. As a child of God we have inherited all the promises of His word. That is so exciting because we can look to him to fulfill his promises to us. God wants us to enter into the abundant life he has waiting for us that only comes in a relationship with Him.

God doesn’t force himself upon us, from the beginning he has always given us free will to choose or reject him. He wants to be the Lord of our lives meaning he wants all of us, not just what we pick and choose to give him.  This happens when we surrender ourselves to Him and we seek to align our plans with His plans. This is how we begin to know and see His will for our lives.

It really excites me when I think on these truths. We don’t serve some far off God who looks down on us only watching. He wants to be actively involved in the everyday moments of our lives. His greatest desire for us is a daily relationship with himself and through that ongoing relationship, God revels who he is and all he has planned for us. As we come to know his plans and align ourselves with his will, this is how we enter into the abundant life he talks about in scripture.

There is nothing more fulfilling in life than a vibrant relationship with our Creator and being able to take part in the great plan he has for us! So I pray as we begin this new year, that you to would prayerfully ask God to help show you what he wants for you, and then with his guidance, construct a plan to carry out all he has in store for you!

Leave a Reply

