Remember


twin towers

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. John 1:1-5

I can still remember that morning so vividly. At the time I was a stay-at-home mom of three. Typically I would wake early and spend a little time with my husband before he headed out the door to work. I don’t usually watch television in the morning, but for some reason or another, I just happened to flip on the television that morning.  Instantaneously I stood frozen in shock and in horror and I didn’t quite understand the gravity of what I was witnessing before my very eyes. I watched a replay of the footage of an airplane hitting the first tower.

I shouted to my husband who was in the other room to come and see what was happening.  I remember feeling as if it was surreal as we stood and watched the horrific events that were enfolding before us. As our eyes were fixated to the television, we watched the first tower, a section was smoldering from the flames that engulfed the wreckage.  What happened next was even more surreal, another plane plummeted into the second tower. At that moment we both looked at each other in horror and disbelief and instantly knew that our country was under attack. I remember such a feeling of utter disbelief but also a feeling of desperation and loss, and even a brief moment of helplessness.

I’m sure we each have a story of what we were doing, or a remembrance of how we felt when we first heard of the tragic events that transpired on September 11, 2001.  To this day my mind has a hard time gripping the deliberate evil that was planned out for that day. But in looking back through biblical accounts, I can also see that nothing has changed since the beginning of time.  Here in America we are so often times removed from the religious hate that transpires in the world around us. But on the morning of September 11, that hate became a reality in OUR world as we were attacked firsthand on OUR own soil and all the world was watching live as a deliberate act of evil played out its course before our very eyes.

There are so many things to be sad about when I think about that day. Primarily my heart aches for the thousands that lost loved ones. Although, when looking to see beyond the tragedy, my heart also knows hope. I am so grateful for the countless stories of the hero’s that stepped up and made a difference that day and it clearly highlights the good that is still in this world!  Jesus Christ is the hope in the hopelessness.  When our world crumbles around us, we see that God is still there in our midst and has always been. When the world sinks, He provides the solid rock on which to stand!

We war against the prince of darkness and the ruler of this world, but as believers in Christ Jesus, we are His armor of light! Just as Satan thought he would defeat Jesus at the Cross, Jesus overcame death through the power of His Resurrection! When we believe on Him we also become victors with him and his spirit indwells us to be the light in this dark world.  We can stand firm in the unthinkable because in the end we know who wins!

Thank you Lord Jesus that our Victory is found only in you! Help us to put on the armor of right living and to fight the good fight of faith. Help us to realize that the only way we will ever overcome evil is with good. Thank you Lord Jesus that you are our goodness and that our righteousness comes only from you and your finished work on the cross! Help us to shine our light in a world of ever-increasing darkness. Thank you that the victory is ours in Christ Jesus, help us always to Remember!

Leave a Reply

