Numbering the Days


timeTeach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.  Psalm 90:12

Did you ever notice that when things are well planned out and in sync, that there is just a natural flow? Things get done and done well and in the end there is a great feeling of accomplishment. I don’t have many days like that, but I do have a few, teehee.

I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not the best planner in the world and I tend to be a bit of a procrastinator in a lot of areas (something I’m definitely not proud of).  In the past I’ve used the excuse, “well that’s not my strong suit.”  But I believe when I continually feel frustration in certain areas in my life, that’s God’s way of telling me to consider my ways . . . and then I start asking him to help me to come up with a solution.

There are some days that when looking at my schedule, I can easily be overwhelmed with the endless list of things on my “to do” list (in my brain).  My husband is the list maker, he even makes lists for me (something that works for both of us).  Some days, there are so many things I want to accomplish and yet so few hours in the day to do so.

In the day and age in which we live, time is such a precious commodity.  I also think that the way we choose to use our time speaks a lot about what we value in life. We can either choose to use our time on selfish pursuits or we can choose to use our time for things that will matter for eternity.

Often the use of my time will waffle back and forth between the two. So many days, I end of scrambling from event to event which sometimes leaves me feeling drained and discouraged. I think that this is an area of my life that God is pointing to, something that I need to start being more intentional about.

In the scripture above, I think that numbering our days helps us to put a proper perspective on the brevity of life. I think the second part of the scripture which reads, that we may gain a heart of wisdom references that we would seek the wisdom of God to learn how to best utilize our time.

The thing God is showing me lately, is that if we don’t live life purposefully, we merely begin to exist.  When we simply exist, we run on default mode or auto pilot which is merely getting by, trying to make it though yet another day and doing so, everything becomes laborious and tiring!

In contrast of existing, is purposeful living!  I find purposeful living to be exciting and energizing! Purposeful living, is living with focus and with a goal in mind.  Purposeful living causes us to think long-term verses living in day-to-day drudgery. Purposeful living is all about planning and in the long run I think instead of less time, you end up with more time because you are being more intentional in it’s use.

Instead of letting the clock control our lives, we take control by seeking God’s wisdom daily for the best use of our time for his eternal purposes. We can easily waste time in worldly pursuits or we can choose to be intentional with our time which promises eternal rewards.

 

Leave a Reply

