Ageless beauty


200901_omag_beauty_mirror_220x312And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into the image of Christ with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord who is the Spirit. 2 Corinthians 3:18

Our society is obsessed with appearances. Everyone longs for that youthfulness that will last forever. The media bombards us with everything from miracle creams that erase age lines, to exercise equipment and videos that will give you the body you’ve always wanted in just 30 days. Wow talk about fantasies and empty promises.

Ok truth is, I have bought in to some of these schemes (in my youthful stupidity) at one point or another.  Yep I’ve tried the creams and the videos. I know, I know, how shallow right? Shortly after the purchase, I would realize I was duped at the hand of the ever so crafty media, they had just found their newest sucker. Hey, at least I can admit it now, that’s progress right? As the wisest man who ever lived claimed, “Vanity of vanities! All is vanity.” ~ Solomon

Just a little over a week ago, I just celebrated my 43rd birthday.  Upon reflecting over these last few years, I’d have to say that by far, my forties have been my favorite years yet. Yes, I can even say that in spite of the wrinkling, sagging and ever-increasing grey hairs.

I’m finding that true beauty only comes from the creator of beauty. It says in 2 Corinthians 4:16 that outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  I love that! Aging is inevitable, but God’s plan for renewal is far better than anything this world has to offer.

Renewal begins when we submit our lives to God and through the power of the Holy Spirit working in us, we begin to be renewed with the mind of Christ as the Holy Spirit empowers us to live for him.  God’s plan for us is transformation.  As we follow Him and spend time in his word, he begins to transform us from the inside out.

I am always reminded that God’s view of things is so very different from that of the worlds.  As it says in 1 Samuel 16:7b . . .  The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart. God doesn’t care one hoot about the outside, he cares about our inside. I love God’s seemingly backwards ways!

When we let the light of Christ shine through the recesses of our lives it begins to transform us and the true beauty, which comes from Christ, begins to radiate from the inside out. Now that’s the beauty I want strive for.  This process will take a lifetime, but with it brings the promise of renewed hope! And as much as I am enjoying my forties, I know that the best is yet to be, eternity with my Creator who is the true source of ageless beauty!

Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame. Psalm 34:5

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. 1 Peter 3:3-4

Leave a Reply

