No Greater Love


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo ever consider your smallness?  I know that may seem like a rather funny question.  But I am often impressed with that feeling when I am looking at the vast expanse of the ocean or admiring the a beautiful formation of clouds, or oohing and aahing over a magnificent sunrise or sunset.

I am reminded of David’s words in Psalm 8 and I can deeply relate to his feelings of awe at God’s Majesty yet what might have been his feeling of littleness in God’s overall big picture.  In verse 4 it reads. . . What is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? And the passage continues in verse 5 to read . . . You made them only a little lower than God, and crowned them with glory and honor.  What a profound statement, meaning we are made in His image and imputed his righteousness.  What an unfathomable love God has for his creation!

When I sit and dwell on the fact that the creator of the universe is mindful of me, like David, quoting, “Who am I,” it really is quite mind-boggling.  First of all that he made me, he loves me, he pursues me, he disciplines me like an unruly child, he draws me unto himself , cares for my deepest needs and desires and willingly chose to die for me and bring me into a right relationship with himself. Wow, not a much better love story than that, Romeo and Juliet pale in comparison.

Awhile back I had the privilege of teaching a great lesson in Kid’s Church.  It was kinda a last-minute thing and I didn’t have a lesson planned but God brought to my mind the scripture I was reading earlier in the day and I decided to use it as the context of my lesson.  That passage of scripture was from Psalm 139 and it reads:

You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind an before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there you hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say, surely the darkness will hide me and light become night around me: even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is light to you. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was oven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand–

Wow, how precious is his great love for us! It was fun to go through this passage one by one with the kids and to make them see how uniquely special they are to God, how much they are thought of by him and that he is always with them.  I even joked about God being with them when they were in going to the bathroom and as you can imagine, that caused quite a little stir.  But to see their little minds contemplating the reality of God always being with them and being intensely loved by their creator, it was an awesome thing.

How aware are you of God’s presence in your life and of his immense love for you his creation? The biggest thing I see that keeps us from living in a place of true intimacy with God is all the distraction of the world around us. I see everything clamoring for our time and attention leaving little time for God.  All God asks is that we spend time with him and get to know him and that he will take care of the rest. (Matthew 6:33)  His greatest desire is for a relationship with us.

God doesn’t need us, but he chose us.  You were chosen to take part in His bigger story. We may be a small in comparison to the universe, but in God’s eyes we are great.  So great  that he gave his son’s life for our worth to bring us into a right relationship with himself! Our smallness is overshadowed by his greatness, because when we are his child, we become one with him (1 Corinthians 6:17). What an amazing truth to dwell on! Thank you Jesus for your immense love and your goodness to us! You are an awesome God! To you be the glory both now and forever!

Leave a Reply

