Weathering the Rain


rain on winshieldAs I was driving home after dropping my kids off at school, the wipers on my car were going fifty mph to keep up with the downpour of rain.

Sometimes the amount of rain we get here in the winters tends to have a detrimental affect on my mood. Now I know some people don’t mind all the rain we get, but as for me, more than a day or two and my mood can get extremely frumpy.

We all know that this can partially be due to the lack of vitamin D (the sunshine vitamin) which in winter months, we have a shortage of here on the coast.  But I also think it also has to do with my lack of proper perspective. You know the old saying, “It’s all how you look at it?” Well, it’s SO true!

As I continue to grow in my walk with the Lord, the more I am coming to terms with the natural order of life and how God designed things to work  (I know, I’m a little slow, teehee).  Now, it’s not that I wished it never rained, but it’s the amount we get that sometimes drives me crazy. As the rain is a necessary part of that order in which God designed things and without it, nothing would grow, and it is the same in my spiritual walk with the Lord.

Sometimes God has to walk us through the rain and storms so that we can appreciate the sunshine.  Storms in life come in various forms for each of us.  And sometimes in order for us to get to where God needs us to go, these storms are a necessary part of the journey so that we can learn and grow.

God uses the times of storms in our lives to draw us closer to himself.  And if we cling to him when things get rough, we come out on the other side even stronger and with clearer direction of what God wants for us. As believers, we are going to have adversity in this life and it’s how we learn to weather the storms and keeping proper perspective which determine how brightly we see the sun shining afterwards.

Hebrews 12:2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Isaiah 43:2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

James 1:3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.

Leave a Reply

