Do you know “The Truth?”


truthI was raised in a “main line” denominational church and we went to church every week.  I attended the churches parochial school for my twelve years of education.  And in high school, it was an “all girls” school at that (sounds fun right), haha!  At least we didn’t have to worry about impressing the boys, teehee.  My family seemed outwardly “religious” and yet inwardly I knew there was something missing.

When I was eighteen, I started dating a young man who after some time began to make me question my beliefs.  I soon discovered that I really didn’t know what I believed at all.  It’s like I was scrambling to grasp at something when trying to defend my faith, but it was like grabbing at broken pieces of glass.

I believed in God, but who God actually was I really had no idea.  I always pictured him as a judge living up beyond the clouds.  I would pray once in a while when things got rough, but without feeling that God really heard or even cared.  I pretty much believed that I would get to heaven if I was “good enough” and guess what? In comparison to the rest of the world, I thought I wasn’t half bad. At least I wasn’t an axe murderer anything like that. I thought that I was basically a “good” person.

This same young man began to open up the bible and show me the truths therein.  Initially my first reaction was that, “I don’t care what the bible says.” I’m “such and such” a religion and we do what the church says.  And as I began to look further into the bible, I was astonished to find what was there. . . actual truth, truth that spoke to my heart.  God’s word began to penetrate my hardened heart and I began diving into the word in search for more truth.  I had never read the bible like this before and there seemed to be the answers there for things that I had questions about. I couldn’t believe that what I thought was “this ancient book,” actually pertained to me and was relevant to my life today.

The reason I share this story today is because without truth, we will fall for anything.  In Hosea 4:6 it says . . . my people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.  God is speaking of the knowledge of himself which is found in his word, the bible.  To know who Jesus is, we have to read the bible.  He is the revealed truth of his word.  And as children of God, all of the truths in the bible are God’s promises to us, his people.  2 Timothy 3:16 states . . . All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.

What seems so desperately lacking in this world we live in?  It’s truth, it’s absolutes.  Without these, anything flies.  The bible says in John 14:6  . . . I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the father except through me.  There is NO other way.  If I could get to God by being “good enough” on my own, then God wouldn’t have had to send Jesus to the earth to die for my sin.  It’s that simple.  In Titus 3:5  it says . . . not by works of righteousness we have done, (meaning I can never do anything to earn my salvation or be good enough on my own) . . . then the verse continues . . . but according to his mercy HE saved us.  It has nothing to do with me other than me accepting and believing the truth.

As Christmas day is soon approaching I am thinking on the most beautiful gift ever given. God sent his son to the earth, to live in human flesh, not because he had to, but because of his great love for us.  In Luke 2:52 it says . . . And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature and in favor with God and man.  He was tempted as we are, yet he lived a sinless life. Then he was falsely accused and sentenced to die a horrific death.  Jesus willingly chose to die for us because he knew he was fulfilling the plan of his father.  He paved the way for us, sinful man to live eternally with God the father.  Salvation is a free gift, for all who believe in the truth!

John 1:14 states it like this . . . The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.  Jesus is the truth that is SO needed today in this world that is trying to erase him.  He is the way to eternal life and there is NO other.

The bible says . . . For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11.  If you’re feeling hopeless this Christmas Season, know that Jesus is the hope that is needed in this broken world. He is the only way, He is the absolute truth, and In Him we find eternal life. My prayer is that you truly experience HIM this Christmas Season, and know the hope for which he is calling you, and that is the absolute truth!

One thought on “Do you know “The Truth?”

  1. In order to walk in the truth, we must know the TRUTH and have a personal relationship with Him (Jesus) and know the WORD. Thanks for the challenge Jen!

Leave a Reply

