Seeking to Soar


548858_4331142392969_645372534_nThis morning after I dropped the kiddo’s off at school,  I drove down to get a coffee and then to go sit by the ocean for some quiet time.  I do this quite often to find some space to myself and to just sit,  reflect and to spend some alone time with God.  It really helps to be able to get this time outside my home.  I’m so thankful to feel God’s presence and am able to connect with him on a deeper level when I do this.

As I sat there sipping my coffee, I was quite amused by watching the seagulls flying up and down the coastline and landing here and there on the bluff.  The wind was unusually strong this morning due to some big storms we had last night.  Watching those birds take off and land in the extreme wind is really rather interesting.

It seems that there is extreme exertion on their part due to the intensity of the wind to both take off and land.  Their little wings have to flap like crazy to stay a flight.   Like I said, it is really rather amusing to watch.  The effort they have to exert seems like such an intense struggle against the gale force winds coming off the ocean.

Once the Seagulls are high enough and after much struggling, they eventually let go and drift backward into what seems to be a natural stream of air flow and then they are simply carried by the wind. To me, I am so relieved for them because at this point the act of flying seems almost effortless.  They are now soaring and being carried naturally in the flow of the air current.

In watching all of this I see a parallel in my own life.  Sometimes we feel as if we are having to fight and struggle to get adrift in our own lives.  We are exerting all kinds of effort and soon we become weary and tired.  But the great part is that as soon as we “let go” and release the struggle to God, we can simply “rest” in him and we are then carried, the same way the seagull is carried in the natural flow and current of the air.

It says in Isaiah 40:29-31 . . . He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

With the recent events in Newton Connecticut still fresh on our hearts, we feel the heaviness of the circumstances that transpired and we struggle to make some sense of the horrific events that took place.  I’m thankful that we have a God who hurts with us.  He never leaves us or forsakes us and he knows our pain firsthand.  He is with us in our hurts and sufferings.  And I’m thankful that we can find rest “in him” as we let him carry our burdens. I’m also thankful that He IS our peace during difficult times.

It says in  Matthew 11:28-29 . . .  Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Lord Jesus thank you that our true rest is found in you.  As we continue to lift up the dear families that lost their children and loved ones, we thank you that we do not have to carry these burdens alone.  Thank you that you can help us to soar above circumstances that threaten to take us down and that you give flight to our wings as we abide in you .  Thank you that our HOPE is found only in you and that when we come to you with our heaviness, that you will bear the burden with us. Thank you for your word and the precious promises that our ours! Please continue to comfort, strengthen and uphold the families in Connecticut.  You are an awesome God and we thank you for being our Emmanuel. In Jesus name. AMEN

2 thoughts on “Seeking to Soar

  1. Yolanda says:

    Aw! Jenny what a blessing to read… and amen to your prayer! My heart just hurt so bad for what happened… how we all need the Lord so much in our lives!!! Come Lord Jesus Come! Amen! Thank you for taking the time to write! It’s a blessing… always! Missing you.

  2. Yes, Come Lord Jesus Come! Thank you sweet sister! ❤

Leave a Reply

