Pulling Power!


Do you ever try to figure things out in your own mind?  We are ultimately bent on trying to come up with solutions to the things going on around us.  Or we question God on what he is doing and why things happen the way they do? Like he needs to answer to us anyway, right?

I do this quite frequently and this often times leaves me feeling more frustrated and more confused than ever.  And sometimes even defeated.

This morning I was reading an article that spoke to me and then God reminded me of the passage in Psalm 37:5 which reads . . . “Commit your way to the Lord, trust in Him and he will do this.”

This is exactly what I needed to hear at just the right time.  God is so good like that.  He saves me from my own harmful thoughts and ways.  He wants me to commit my ways to him and not to try to figure everything out on my own. When I try to do this, it is sin. It’s not trusting God’s bigger plan.

His word says “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways. Isaiah 55:8-9  How could I ever hope to comprehend or know what God is doing in and through my life.  He just wants me to trust him and to walk in obedience to him.

This reminds me of the sin Eve committed in the garden. She decided to eat of the tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil thus knowing all and becoming like God.  She was given paradise and yet did the one thing she was told not to do.  She wanted to know instead of just trust. God please forgive me.

Gods words says, I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11 With promises like that we can rest assured that God has us is the palm of his hand.  Our thinking tends to be a bit short sided but God knows the ultimate plan and when we walk with him, we can trust that he is working all things for our good and that his plan IS good!

God wants us to stop playing tug of war with him.  And often times I am so guilty of doing  just that. He wants me to set the rope down in surrender. Because when I surrender and obey, He is able to carry the load and pull the weight in our battles.  HE WILL DO IT! Our victory comes when we let him do the work. We will never fully understand why God does what he does this side of heaven, but God sometimes shows us glimpses of the results when we trust him so that we will be encouraged to continue on the journey.

God doesn’t need to do these things for us, but he does because he loves us and wants our full love in return.  When we submit our all to God and trust him, he gets the Glory due him and we have the opportunity to see him at work.  This life is not about us. It’s about him and furthering his kingdom here on earth.

God wants us to come to him in childlike faith, not trusting our own human wisdom but trusting in his divine plan!  Our wisdom brings confusion, his wisdom brings results! Lord Jesus help us to give over the pulling power to you, help us to trust you more fully today! Help me to commit my ways unto you so that you can fully guide and direct all my days!  Help me to daily surrender. Lord Jesus show me how fleeting my life is.  Help me to further your purposes and be a willing vessel in your ultimate plan.  Thank you for who you are and for how you work in our hearts and lives.  And glory and praise to you King Jesus!

2 thoughts on “Pulling Power!

  1. Thanks Jenny! Another powerful word. 🙂 I needed the reminder!

  2. Erin Smith says:

    Preach it sister! Good Word<3

Leave a Reply

