Beware of the Spider and it’s Web


The other day I went for an early morning run.  It was a typical fall morning, cool and crisp but beautifully sunny.  There is one part of my run, which is a slow but continual incline.  Usually when I crest the top of hill, I stop for a short breather. I also do a little quick victory dance congratulating myself for making it to the top of the hill without quitting.

I had stopped to catch my breath and was looking around pondering the surrounding beauty.  I looked out across an open field surrounded by trees and there amidst the long dried out and overgrown grass, were hundreds and hundreds of spider webs.  Typically they would be obscured from the naked eye.  But they were covered with moist droplets of morning dew which was  illuminating them by the shining of the morning sun through the trees.   I was shocked by the vast number of them, it was really quite amazing.  If walking through the field, I would not be able to walk three feet in any direction without running into them.

Spider webs have always fascinated me.  They are beautifully woven, yet deadly traps for unexpectant prey.  Almost everyone at some point has watched when some little fly or other insect gets stuck in a spider’s web.  The spider most often times is hidden from plain view, but upon sensing the vibration from the struggle of something caught in it’s web,  the spider quickly descends upon the prey, further trapping it to seal the deal.  It then injects venom into its prey leaving it either immobilized or killing it.  Then the spider will then feed on it’s prey.

We must beware of the spider and it’s web.  The devil is like the spider who so craftily spins a web of deception.  He lies waiting for unrepentant prey,  just like ourselves, to wander aimlessly into his trap, so that he can entangle us and make us his next deadly victims.  Just like in the garden, Eve was deceived by the serpent.  He was cunning, crafty and made his lies appear to be as truth.  The bible gives us repeated warnings such as, beware, watch out, and stay alert.

When we are not diligent in our daily walk with Christ, when we’re not daily dying to our fleshly desires, we become easy targets for Satan.  The bible says in 1 Peter 5:8 . . .Be self-controlled and alert.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.  That sends chills up my spine that our enemy is LOOKING for someone to devour.  We become easy prey when we are not spending time in God’s word and communing with him.  The devil renders that a victory, because we have become useless to the cause of Christ and have hardened out hearts against him.

When we are trying to do Gods will and seeking him.  The devil will amp up his attacks.  He wants to trip us up and make is fall.  God does not tempt us but each one is tempted when by his own evil desires he is dragged away and enticed. James 1:14  Lets face it none of us are going to be free from temptation, but if we remain strong and in Christ, these same temptations if endured will strengthen us.  While we remain in the flesh we will always have a battle to fight.  But praise be to God it says in that sin no longer has power over us. Romans 6:14  And that in Christ Jesus we are more than conquerors.  Romans 8:37

So as we go about out daily business, let us try to heed the warnings of scripture and remain with our eyes fixed on the goal to win the prize for which God has called heavenward in Christ Jesus.  Father God I pray in your precious name that we would abide in you.  Help us to stay alert against the schemes of the devil.  Help us daily to take up our cross and follow you.  Father God you have set us free from a life of bondage, help us to remain free and no longer be enslaved to sin.  We have that victory in you.  Thank you for all you have done and the great price you have paid for our freedom.  Help us to daily walk in that freedom! We praise you for your goodness to us! All praise and Glory be to your name, King Jesus! AMEN

4 thoughts on “Beware of the Spider and it’s Web

  1. Tara Johnson says:

    Thanks Jenny! Just the encouragement that I needed. I have fallen into the trap of thinking that my recent trial might be because of something I am doing wrong. I was JUST reminded a couple of minutes ago (in my thoughts) that Job hadn’t done anything WRONG… he was just being ‘tested’. So, you reminded me even further that I am free from the bondage of thinking that I must be…. but rather I should be thinking GOD must be…. 🙂 THANKS so much friend!

  2. Wonderful word picture, Jenny.

  3. Thanks Jenny! Your writing always inspires me to draw closer to my Lord and Savior!

  4. Thanks for all the kinds words of encouragement. God is so faithful to teach us as we go. My prayer is that he always does whatever it takes to make me look to him. SO often I fail him but I am so thankful that HE is faithful and that he guides us by HIS mighty hand! It’s that when we are weak, HE is strong! He is SO good to us!

Leave a Reply

