Are you following “The Way?”


Yesterday on my morning run I happened to notice all the road signs along the route I typically run (I know, interesting fact huh?).  They’ve been there all along but yesterday I just happened to be paying a little “closer attention” to them.  I don’t know about you but I tend to be directionally challenged.  Take me out spin me around and I don’t know which way is which. I’m so very thankful for signs and for GPS!

Signs can be fun! We have one of those eclectic yards where we even have a few of them hanging around here and there.  One of my favorite being, “Watch out for dips” (haha).  I call it a yard with character. But the true purpose for signs is to give us direction and help us to navigate safely. As I looked at each sign as I ran, each one seemed to remind me of how we all need direction in our walks with the Lord (and boy do we ever). Without clear direction we can circle aimlessly or easily lose our way.

The first sign I came across is this one, “One Lane Road.” This reminds me that there is only one way to God and that is through Jesus Christ. John 14:6 says . . .I am the way and the truth and the life.  No man comes to the Father but by me.  In following him we have to choose the one lane road because the bible tells us that narrow is the way, and there are few that find it.  In Matthew 7: 13,14 the bible talks about broad is the road that leads to destruction and many are headed that way.  That’s scary thought to ponder, that some may think they are on the right road, but they may not be (Matthew 7:21). I want to be sure my life is on the narrow one lane road and that I am pointing others to “The Way” as well.

The second sign I came across is one which I found quite amusing because it’s on the one lane road.  It reads, “Please Check Lights, Fasten Seat belts.” In order to properly navigate in our walk with the Lord, we need to have our spiritual eyes open. Hence, checking lights meaning we are holding God’s word as our standard. We are walking in the light verses walking in darkness, we are making a conscious choice to follow him regardless of the cost. In John 8:12 the text reads . . .“I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”  The Holy Spirit is that light living inside us and he is with us as our helper and constant companion.

The second part of the sign reads “Fasten Seat belts.” To me the application here is to look out, be aware, be safe, and to use precaution. When we are actively pursing a relationship with God there will be bumps in the road. There will be sudden turns and sudden braking so seat belts are necessary for safety. In the same way when we are making progress for the kingdom of God, the enemy wants to distract us and will go to any means to get us off course, therefore we must always be on guard and prepared for action. It says in 1 Peter 5:8 it says. . .“Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” When the bible gives a warning like that, we need to be listening! God never promises that following him will be easy, but he does promise to be with us every step of the way (Deuteronomy 31:8).

The third sign I came across read, “No Trespassing.”  It was a gated area with a lock on the fence.  No trespassing is clearly a warning of do not enter.  It’s forbidden territory, off-limits.  It is the same in our walk with God, his word clearly states right and wrong and we have to choose.  When we have the Holy Spirit living inside us, he gives us the power to choose correctly so that we can overcome temptation and be victorious over sin.

Like the signs that help give clear direction and help us to find our way, I’m so thankful that we as believers have the Word of God that is our guidebook.  It is the map, the source of direction we need to help us to navigate in our faith.  Father God help us to choose the one lane road, help us to stay the narrow way, guide us, direct us and lead us in the way of the everlasting. All Glory and Honor to you Lord Jesus. AMEN

We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands. The man who says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him. But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him: Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did. 1 John 2:3-6

Leave a Reply

