Living Water


One of my favorite things of living here on the Northcoast is being able to enjoy the beautiful Smith River.  Like so many other “Coasties,” my family loves spending time at the river.  Over the years we’ve enjoyed so many good times swimming, rafting and hanging out with friends there.  In the summertime, it’s one of our favorite pastimes, especially when the fog is hanging here on the coast, there’s nothing like driving inland a bit and enjoying some sunshine and swimming.

I remember one the first times I ever visited California and was taken to see (as it’s called) the Majestic Smith River.  I could not believe how clean and clear the water was!  Due to the rock lined bottom the water is breathtakingly pure and transparent.  This was so amazing to me!  Growing up in the Midwest the rivers have a sandy/muddy bottom which makes the water anything BUT clear.  There could be something dead floating right next to you and you wouldn’t even know it (and believe me as a kid I would sometimes wonder, teehee).

The purity and clarity of the water in the Smith is really quite spectacular!  To this day I can say that every time I go there I am still awestruck by its clarity and beauty.  Through the reflection of the water you can get a clear perspective of what lies below the surface, even in the deeper depths there is still clarity!

Looking at the river somehow reminds me of God’s purity and of how God wants us live as his followers, transparent.  We often times try to hide from God.  We think that God does not  understand what we’re going through or we question His motives for why our lives are like they are, and thus the muddy water.  But when we truly begin to understand who God is and see ourselves through the light of His word, he begins to bring proper perspective and clarity to our lives and thus He is the clean and living water to us.  His work on the cross acted as a purifier by once and for all removing the gunk and impurities and we were made clean and pure through him.

God did not design us to continually live in the muddy waters of life.  He want’s us to be pure even as he is pure.  And He has a purpose and a plan for each of us.  And until we look to him for clarity, we will never fully understand what that is.  He is the one who shines the light into the darkness and makes all things visible.  And he wants us to live in transparency before him and the world.  And through the power of the Holy Spirit, He wants to be the clean and living water flowing through us (John 7:38).

Yesterday on our way home from a trip over the hill, we stopped to adjust some tie-downs on a trailer we were pulling.  As my husband did so, I got out of the car and snapped this picture of the Smith.

I love this picture because in it you can see the transparency of the water and the rocks that lye below in the depths of the water.  I also loved the bridge in this photo because  it represents what Jesus did for us to achieve the way to him.  Because of our sin we were separated from him, like two separate banks of the river.  But through his death on the cross he bridged the gap between us (our sinful selves and his perfect sinless self).  And now we can have access to God through the cross (which acts as the bridge).  Christ  is the cleansing water that flows between us, bringing new life and continually renewing and refreshing us.

Father God thank you for your finished work on the cross.  Help us to have a clear perspective and live as who we are “In You” so that we may be a clear reflection of your love to the world.  Thank you for who you are and all you have done! All praise to you King Jesus!

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.  Hebrews 4:13

Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD. Psalm 139:4

For a man’s ways are in full view of the LORD, and he examines all his paths. Proverbs 15:3

My eyes are on all their ways; they are not hidden from me . . . Jeremiah 16:17

Can anyone hide in the secret places so that I cannot see him? declares the LORD. . . Jeremiah 23:24

He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.  Daniel 2:22

Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there you hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. Psalm 139:7-12

One thought on “Living Water

  1. Sharon Strang says:

    !!!!!

Leave a Reply

