And the adventure continues . . .


When I write, it’s not because I’m an expert in anything, I quite literally feel quite the opposite.  I really am an expert at nothing.  I like everyone else, am a work in progress.  I’m learning as I go, and often times from my mistakes.  One thing I know for certain is that we have a God who loves us beyond all measure.  He went through great lengths to bring us close to himself  and he desires a close intimate relationship with each and every one of us.  Father God as I write this now it is my desire that you reveal yourself to us in new and exciting ways.  May we draw close to you so that you may empower us through your spirit to do your will.  Thank you for being an amazing God. All Glory and Honor to you sweet Jesus.  In your name we pray. AMEN

It’s been over a year now since I’ve started my adventures in running (as I so often like to call it).  I therefore thought it was fitting to write a post on the many parallels between physical running and running the race that God has set before us as spoken of  in scripture (Hebrews 12:1).

I’m a very visual/hands on type learner.  I do much better when you show me how to do something versus just telling me how it’s done.  Running to me has become an outward exercise of the inward walk of faith we all experience as believers.

Running is an ACTION.  It requires effort and then must be put in momentum by action.  Likewise our faith requires action.  God says without faith it is impossible to please God (Hebrews 11:6).  Action then becomes a natural bi-product of our faith which results in good works.

Running takes DISCIPLINE.  This is one of the main reasons I began running in the first place. In order to grow in our walk with Christ we must all implore spiritual disciplines to help us, which include daily reading of our bibles and praying. These essential disciplines helps us to grow in our knowledge of Christ and his character and this is how we stay connected to God and know his will for our lives.

Just as STRETCHING before a run helps my muscles to increase their flexibility and to help prevent injuries, we must allow our faith to be stretched.  We do this by stepping out of our comfort zones and relying on faith to do the things God wants us to do.  This is how we grow in our faith and knowledge of Him.

When running it helps to have the proper CLOTHING and running shoes.  In Romans 13:14 it says . . . we are to clothe ourselves with Christ.  We do this by following Christ’s example.  Meaning being imitators of Christ in his actions and clothing ourselves in His righteousness.

When I run it is important that I am properly HYDRATED.  Meaning I have drunk enough fluids so that I don’t become weak or tired.  Being properly hydrated helps me to have an optimal run.  Likewise in our walk with God, it is important that we stay hydrated with God’s word.  Daily filling ourselves with the living water and drinking it in so that we can release an outflow of Christ’s love in our lives.

To be a runner requires COMMITMENT.  Some days I feel like running and some days I don’t.  But because I am committed and have disciplined myself in doing so, I run regardless of how I feel.  Psalm 37:5 says . . . Commit thy ways unto the Lord, trust in Him and he will bring it to pass.  Meaning we should be committed to God by seeking His direction in everything we do.

When running it helps to have a goal or a FOCUS in mind.  For some that may mean striving to run in a race or marathon or for others it may be trying shed a few extra pounds.  In our walk with God we are to set our focus on things above.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith. We need to focus not on temporal things (earthly treasures), but on things that matter for eternity by loving God whole heartily and loving others and pointing them to Him.

When I run, I like to run at an even PACE.  This means I don’t start out with a sprint and burn myself out so that I don’t want to finish, but rather I go slow and steady.  I try to run at a pace that keeps my heart rate in an optimal zone of effectiveness.  Likewise in my walk with God I desire to seek his heart in all matters.  I do this by obedience to the word and through prayer.  This helps keep my heart in alignment with Gods to fulfill his purposes and plans for my life.

We must run with PERSEVERANCE.  Meaning that no matter what obstacles my come up, we must continue to run, pressing on to the finish.  Running the race of faith that God has set before us is not always easy, there are many twists and turns, we are hard pressed on every side and many adversaries may come against us.  But we must persevere with all diligence, pressing onward, because he has already paid the price on our behalf and “In Him” the VICTORY is won!

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

1 Corinthians 9:25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

Acts 20:24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me. . .

2 thoughts on “And the adventure continues . . .

  1. So many great parallels, Jennifer. Very inspiring.

  2. Mandy says:

    Hi, Jennifer. I am coming to you from Women Living Well. This was a good analogy. I especially like your opening prayer.

Leave a Reply

