Joy on the Journey


As I proceeded to jog down the road this morning, I was trying hard to outrun the fog that was looming in my brain.  Suddenly there was a great movement to the left of me in the overgrown grassy field.  I looked to the left and froze in suspense and to my delight, it was a small buck with beautifully velvety horns staring straight at me.  He was approximately thirty feet from me and was as cute as can be (if you can call a deer cute).  We had suddenly begun a stare off that lasted for approximately five minutes before I decided I had better proceed with my run because it seemed as if the stare down could have lasted all day.

As I continued to run, dozens of little yellow bellied finches were flitting from post to post alongside of the road.  The field on both sides of me were covered in beautiful white daisies that were springing up in the overgrown dried out grasses.  A single white dove was sitting atop a telephone wire and seemed to be peering down at me.  Suddenly I was flooded with a sense of thankfulness.

Minutes earlier I was wallowing in my dreariness of my mood and allowing a cloud of self pity to follow me around, kinda like an Eyeore moment.  Funny how sometimes we wake up feeling that way.  I believe for me, it was due in part to coming down from the “elation of vacation” and having to jump back into the full swing of things. I didn’t know if I was quite ready for that yet.

Even though the sun was not shining this morning, God was pointing me to his son-shine that was all around me and telling me to “be thankful.”   1 Thessalonians 5:18 says . . . be thankful in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  God was reminding me that he is always with me, and that he gives me peace and joy on the journey as I “abide” in him and continually seek his presence in “all” circumstances.  Abiding in God requires us to be continually looking to him to fill those voids in our heart that only he can fill and trusting that he is always working on our behalf, doing what is best for us in all circumstances.

As I finished my run with a spring in my step and a smile on my face I looked down at a planter sitting there beside the entryway to my house.  It had this little scripture plaque in it that read, “The Lord has done great things for us and we are filled with Joy” Psalm 126:3.  Then, a tiny little green fog popped his head alongside the scripture plaque and it made me grin from ear to ear. Our creator God is so good.  He is always giving loving and gentle reminders that when we are truly looking, he is always there and that he continually gives us joy on the journey as we look to him.

One thought on “Joy on the Journey

  1. Erin says:

    Beautiful, sister.. Just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

