Learning as you go!


It’s so funny to think about, but each of my children were so radically different when they were small.  I don’t know why this amuses me so much, but you’d think they all have the same genetics they would at least be somewhat alike.

When my youngest Natalie was little, she was a busy little thing.  She would literally go, go, go until she would pass out.  When she was tired, she would get so cranky and would cry and cry.  I would tell her, if you’re tired, then go lay down, but she would just stand by me arms lifted high and cry.  Now mind you, she was no longer a baby but probably four or five.  Initially, this behavior just irritated me to death.  Until I figured her out.

You see, none of my other three children were like her, when they were tired they would lay down and go to sleep.  So this was a learning process for me.  All she wanted is for me to stop what I was doing so I could hold her.  Then immediately she would stop the irritating crying and within minutes fall fast asleep.

I in my stubbornness, did not want to be a crutch for my child who could not fall asleep on her own.  But once I figured out that this would bring the peace and comfort she needed to feel secure and loved, I had to give over my will to hers, knowing that this is what she needed.

Did I mention that I’m a slow learner.  Unfortunately sometimes the best lessons in life have to be learned the hard way. I endured much of her crying before I decided to succumb to her and her wishes.  This may sound harsh to you. Like why didn’t you just hold the kid, but my intentions were always the best, I just didn’t want a spoil my child. And I felt like this was a battle of wills.

Like I said earlier, none of my other three were quite like her. But in discovering this was a need for her, it actually turned out to be a blessing for me.  I was able to stop in the midst of all the business of what I was doing, and spend a few minutes giving her some one on one time and me actually getting a minute of down time.

I had learned a valuable lesson from this experience and that is that God wants us to have the same sort of dependence upon him that Natalie had upon me.  God desires us to be as children in our faith.  That doesn’t mean we are to be foolish or act childlike, but that we are to be childlike in our faith meaning a deep and trusting dependence upon God as in a child/parent relationship.

God wants us to be as my daughter was when she was tired.  He wants us to turn to him in dependency for our security and comfort.  He wants to be our all in all.  Only he can provide the true and lasting comfort that will help us when we are tired, weak, troubled, fearful or fretting.  God is there!  He never leaves us or forsakes us.

He wants us to come to him, to focus on him and to spend time with him,  like a child with outstretched our arms to our father.  And then in his presence he will pick us up and quiet us with his love.  He reassures us that we will be ok and that we are safe in his loving arms.  When we come to him, we can find the peace and security we need and we can rest safely “In Him.”

Unlike us earthly parents who often learn as we go and often times through our mistakes, God is the perfect parent who knows exactly what we need and he is always there for us when we call out to him!

The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love . . . Zephaniah 3:17

He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. . . Psalm 91:4

Leave a Reply

