Are you stuck?


As I walked down onto the beach to take my morning run, I came across these two rather huge pieces of driftwood sticking upright in the sand.

They caught my eye just because they just seemed rather odd sticking up in this position.  They had obviously been there awhile and didn’t look like they would be moving anytime soon.  I tried to give a good push on one of them and it just wouldn’t budge, it was just plain stuck.

Sometimes as followers of Christ we get the same way.  We get stuck in our walk with the Lord and just like these pieces of driftwood we become immovable.

There are many reasons why we as believers become stuck.  Some of the reasons being fear, unbelief, unforgiveness, pride, stubbornness or selfishness.  These are only a few of the reasons, but when we do get stuck in one of these places, things can sometimes seem pretty grim and hopeless.

I myself was caught in such a place as this for years.  Trapped by fear and anxiety, it was if something had a tight grip around me and was choking off my oxygen.  As long as I was in my safety zone I was ok, but push me out into something unfamiliar and the fear would take over, it had me paralized and stuck, unable to move forward in my relationship with God.

You see, fear is not trusting God.  The bible says perfect love, (which is the love of Christ) casts out fear (1 John 4:18).  God doesn’t want us to remain in a place of bondage, he wants us to be free to serve him and to do his will.

The reason I was was finally able to break free was really rather simple, but it took me coming to the end of myself and turning to God.  I needed him to set me free and get me unstuck.  I cried out to God and he heard me and he released me from the chains of fear and set me free.

Sin has a way of getting us stuck.  When we know to do right and we don’t, the bible says it is sin.  Sometimes we think we can hold on to things God shows us are wrong and if we continue to try to hang on, we will get stuck.  God will remove his hand of safety from us because we are choosing to walk in disobedience and that is sin.  Sin separates us from God.  Again we become stuck, trapped by our own lack of obedience to God.

The bible says that we need to examine ourselves.  Sometimes being stuck can be a small setback and believe me, we all have them.  But if we don’t take care of these small issues soon enough, they can become big issues which then become places of bondage to us, we become stuck.

Father God please help us to examine ourselves even now.  If there is something we know keeping us stuck please help to pry our hands open and to give those things to you.  Release us from those things that keep us from fully trusting in you.  Help us to come daily before your throne of grace where you stand waiting to hear and help us.  Help us to trust you in all things so that we may be the people you created us to be.  You are an amazing God.  Thank you for your great love for us.  To you be all glory forever and ever.  AMEN

I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.  He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies. The cords of death entangled me; the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me. The cords of the grave coiled around me; the snares of death confronted me. In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears. . . . he reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.   Psalm 18:1-6;16 

3 thoughts on “Are you stuck?

  1. Jared says:

    These are the best.

  2. Charity says:

    Beautifully expressed!

  3. heidi says:

    Yes Lord Yes Lord Yes Yes Lord Amen!! i love you dear friend. Such truth such pure secure love in your words! Im not STUCK anymore!

Leave a Reply

