Emptied Pockets


It was a beautiful sunny morning here on the Northcoast.  Living so close to the ocean, you have to take advantage of those sunny mornings whenever possible.

So today, after dropping my kidlettes off at school,  I decided to take my morning run on the beach.

Because of the beautiful sunshine, there were plenty of fellow enthusiasts down enjoying the beach as well.

I discovered that there is one great problem with running on the beach.  Well, actually more than one, but I wanted to share one in particular.

You see, I have this problem of wanting  to stop and pick up “treasures” along the way.  Now you may be thinking, “I don’t really see a problem with that,” but really it defeats my purpose of being there and getting some good exercise by getting my heart rate up and going.

Today there was an abundance of “whole” sand dollars, which you don’t find everyday. At first I was so excited to see a whole one and I stopped to pick it up. Then I stopped for another and yet another and before you knew it, I had two whole pockets full, of them.

The problem was that I wasn’t even half way through my run yet and all the stopping and going was definitely putting a kink in my stride.

As I continued to run with my pockets full of “findings,” it wasn’t quite working for me.  They were heavy, akward and cumbersome. Also they were rubbing back in forth in my pocket and I’m sure that they were going to break if I continued on with them.

So after a big sigh, I decided I had to stop, empty my pockets (even though I didn’t want to) and continue on, keeping my focus on my purpose for being there.

Isn’t it the same way in our walk with the Lord?  We get our pockets full of stuff (the burdens and cares of this world), and they begin to weigh us down and fill our minds and permeate our being which in turn bogs us down.

I think by nature, we are all “stuff” collectors, but God wants us to give our stuff to Him. In our humanness, we try to figure things out on our own.  We try to come up with the solutions for all of life’s problems and sometimes even the solutions for others problems as well. But this is not God’s desire for us.

God wants us to cast all of our cares upon Him, because he cares for us.  He want’s to carry the bulk of our load and for us to be dependent on him for his strength to help us with our load.

God wants us to daily set our focus on following Him.  He wants us to empty our pockets and say, “God, here’s my stuff, I’m giving it to you because I trust you and know your way is the best.  I will keep my focus on you so that you can guide and direct me in the way I should go, I put my trust in you.  Help me to keep a steady pace and to run with endurance.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart,  and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.  Matthew 11:28-30

By the way a secondary problem of running on the beach is stopping to take pictures.  Today I stopped to take one of this lovely sand dollar for this post and a sneaker wave came up and got me and I had to do the second half of my run in sloshy wet running shoes. Enough said!

One thought on “Emptied Pockets

  1. Yolanda says:

    Jenny I can’t help but smile as I picture you bent over taking that wonderful picture and the wave…. oh so quietly… with a big smile… coming up behind you ;] LOL! God is good not only to show such wonderful things to you but also because He has given you eyes to see, ears to hear and a heart that feels! We don’t all have that ability to see God’s hand in our lives…yet He is there all the same! Some of us like to just sit around and let it all pass by as if it were just the wind… can’t see it! Not worth it! But oh! How blessed a WHOLE DAY can become when we walk with the Lord! You can do NOTHING on your to do list… but grown in wisdom more than you could have ever dreamed! It makes me sad to think of how may beautiful things I have missed all because I was busy just being ME! When I’m busy being me… there is not really any room for Him! But really… He’s shown me time and time again… He’s so much better at everything than I am… Less and less and less of me…. makes more and more and more room for SOOOOO MUCH MORE OF HIM! Crazy how much He can cram into a little space! Thank you for sharing! You are a blessing to me…. as always! Praying for you my sweet friend!

Leave a Reply

