Surrender


In an effort to keep my blog going, I will be occasionally posting some things I had written prior to me having a blog site.  As some of you know, working, caring for a family, keeping up with the house, and other obstacles life often throws your way can get a bit overwhelming.  Life can be crazy and I have to admit I am not superwoman.  I’m thankful God does not call me to be that.  He is good all the time and is so faithful to meet us where we’re at as we daily walk with him. Blessings to you and yours! In Christ, Jenny

I wrote this post back in August of 2011.

Surrendering to God, hmm.  What does that really mean?  Let’s see, going to church, doing good deeds, being kind to others.  Well, those things are all good things in and of themselves.  But being fully surrendered to God requires something more.  Let’s look at what surrender means: to cease resistance and to submit to authority.  It really means dying to oneself.  Are we willing to do that dear believer?  Do we fill the pews on Sunday and then live the like world the rest of the week?  Do we love the things of this world more than we love it’s creator?  I was one of such of these for years and years.  Father God . . . please forgive me.  It wasn’t until I really “surrendered” that God showed himself real to me.  It took me coming to my knees and crying out, “God do whatever it takes to make me right with you, forgive me, I surrender to you.”  That day, Jesus showed himself real to me like never before.  He is a living, active, righteous God whose spirit indwells the believer.  He love us and cares about every detail of our lives.  I am daily filled with awe as I try to wrap my human brain around how I am seeing continually at work in my life.  He wants us to surrender to him so that we can “fully live.”  John 10:10 says, “I come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”  God has a purpose and a plan for each of us.  He wants to reveal that to us, but first we must surrender all to him. . .and it is in giving up of “ourselves” that we do fully receive.  Nothing in this world even compares with the riches we have “In Christ.”  Romans 12:1 Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship.  Let us be “living sacrifices” as we surrender our lives to Him.

One thought on “Surrender

  1. Heidi says:

    Control of my life has been the only thing that i thought could keep me safe. This failed miserably.. giving it all up to Him… its the only way to be happy! complete surrender… its so big!! but yet so is He!!

Leave a Reply

