Following the Plan


For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

I remember that day vividly, it had been something I had earnestly been praying about for some time.  For some young people, the chance to finally leave home is something they dream about.  Some choose to leave the first opportunity they get, and even do so prematurely.  In my case, it was not so.  I was quite the home-body.  Growing up, I always loved being at home, it was my safe-zone, a place I felt loved and secure.  But as time moved on, all of that changed and even more big changes were in my future.  My time had finally arrived, my hand was being forced, and I had a choice to make.  My parents had recently finalized their divorce after a long separation.  My mom had decided to move back to her birth-state of Wisconsin to be close to her aging parents.  My dad and my brothers were continuing to stay in the Chicago area where I had grown up.  This was a season of change in my life, I did not like change, but I needed to trust God and seek his will for my life.

I had been praying and had carefully analyzed all my options.  I could stay there in Chicago, get my own place and continue working for the publishing company I had been at for the past five years.  I could follow my mom to Wisconsin, continue to live with her, and look for employment there.  Or I could go for some really big (somewhat frightening) change by moving to Northern California.

I had some friends who had become like family to me.  They mentored me when I was a new Christian and they opened up their home and lives to me.  God used this couple during a difficult period in my life, they were real life savers.  They had moved to California a few years prior, to be youth pastors of a small church there.  I had gone to visit them during the summertime for the past two years and had loved the beautiful area.  Knowing I was in a time of transition, they had eagerly offered me the opportunity to move to California and in with them as an additional option.  Let me add that I did have a bit of a love-interest in the California option.  On my last visit to California, I had been corresponding with a man I had met there at their church and to make a long story short, he is now my husband.

But getting back to my original point, I had been praying that God would help direct me into what he wanted for me.  I began to feel at peace with the California option.  This was a big decision for me and I know without God in my life, it wouldn’t have happened.   God began to give me that peace that surpasses all understanding and the doors were opening.  In October of 1993, I boxed up all my personal belongings, boarded a plane and moved to Northern California.  A month after I moved to California, I became engaged to Bob, and he and I were married the following April of 1994.

When I now look back on the situation, I know God was in control.  He helped me to do something that without him I would have been totally unable to do.  He had a plan and was working it out in my life from the very beginning.  The decision was not an easy one and I decided to take that step in faith at trust God with the outcome.  We all come to this point in our lives.  We can choose to stay in what is comfortable for us, or we can step out in faith and do what God has planned for us.  I am so thankful that we have a God who when we trust him, he is with us every step of the way.  He carries us during those difficult seasons of our life when we are unable to see but a few feet in front of us.  We come to him through faith and to continue to grow in our relationship with him by faith. By constantly looking to him and seeking his will, he will guide us and give us insight into what he wants for us.  His plan is not always evident to us, but as we walk in faith and obedience he is there to help guide us.

As believers, we really only have two options.  We can either follow God’s plan for our lives or we can follow our own plan.  One brings blessing and prosperity and the other harm and destruction.  Hm, tough choice huh?  Think about it. . . The bible says in Proverbs 14:12 . . . There is a way that seems right to man, but in the end it leads to death.  This is the “broad” road it speaks about in Matthew 7:13-14 but we are told to enter through the narrow gate.  Small is the gate and narrow is the road that leads to life, and only few find it.  We don’t need to live by what “seems” right to us because we have the word of God which is our light, our compass.  By Reading Gods word, praying and listening to the Holy Spirit, this will help us to know God and to know his plan for us.  I know I want to follow God’s plan for me and honor him with my life.  How about you?

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.  Psalm 119:105

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  Matthew 6:33

2 thoughts on “Following the Plan

  1. rbodenstab says:

    Thanks for sharing such an incredible story of God’s love and provision! He really does have a plan for each of us!

  2. Yes he does. And his plan is always the best! Thanks Roger!

Leave a Reply

