Choosing Your Part


As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him.  She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed.  Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”           Luke 10:38-42

I am reminded this morning that we live in a harried world, full of activity and distractions. Our “to do” lists are a mile long.  Our days are full of so many things that vie for our time and attention. I was starting to feel anxious and concerned with all the things I had yet to do for this weekend, and of all the things others were expecting of me.  Then the Lord brought the above passage to my mind. In this text, I am reminded that I am occasionally choosing the part of Martha verses choosing the most important part of Mary. I am not saying that I am neglecting the reading of God’s word or prayer, but just that I am letting the distractions of the world and the thoughts of everything that needs to be done, distract me from my proper focus “Jesus.”

We are to sit at the feet of Jesus. And how are we to do this in a day and age when we are in constant movement? We like Mary, are to choose the better part.  We need to withdraw ourselves from the worries and cares of the world and let Jesus bear our burdens. God wants us to live in constant communion with him. In order to do that we must give Him first place in our mind and then, in all of our activities. In doing so, we are told in Isaiah 26:3 “That He will keep us in perfect peace when we keep our mind fixed on Him, because we trust in him.” Meaning we place our confidence in God, not letting the trials and circumstances in our lives be a distraction to our focus on our Savior. This is not always easy to do, but if we are to have the “peace of God,” this is what we must do.

Some ways in which we do this is to begin our day with reading God’s word and prayer. This is a must. To give God first place in our lives requires giving him the first of our thoughts and attention for the day. Then we are told that we are to do everything we do to the glory of God (1 Corinthians 10:31). However important or mundane the task is, if we do it to God’s Glory, then He will be in it.  And if we can’t do it to his glory, then we probably shouldn’t be doing it in the first place.

Listening to uplifting music when you work is another great way to keep “God focused.” I’m so thankful that we always have prayer. Prayer should not be a last resort, the bible actually says we are to pray without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:17), continually letting our requests be made known to God. God stands always ready to hear and answer but he wants us to turn from our self-centeredness and re-focus on him and then he is there to help us meet our needs. When we give God his rightful place in our lives and keep our attention on Him, all things become do-able, because his strength is there to sustain us and to pull us through.  He is so amazing and I’m am so thankful for his perfect plan for our lives.  Let us then choose the part of Mary, to sit at our Savior’s feet, for this is the better part.

Father God, I’m so thankful that you always meet me right where I and am. I’m thankful that you continually offer hope and reassurance that you are always with me. Thank you for feeling my frustrations and knowing my needs.  Thank you for the prompting of the Holy Spirit and his presence in my life. Help me always to remember that you are continually “with me.“ I’m thankful for the promise in your word that declares, “Nothing can pluck me from your hand”(John 10:29).  You are an awesome Father and I love you. Thank you for your goodness to me. All Glory and Honor to you my sweet Jesus! AMEN

2 thoughts on “Choosing Your Part

  1. Yolanda says:

    Mmmmm! What a blessing to read this morning as I’ve been pulled away again and again! But I’m pushing thru it all and just tell myself “Ah! I must be on to something wonderful if the things of this world are trying so hard to keep me from my time with the Lord!” And boy has the world been working hard LOL! Thank you for your faithfulness and the sweet words you posted! God is so good to me in my walk to give me such a wonderful friend as you to get to walk beside every once in a while! You have blessed my day! May the Lord bless ALL YOU DO FOR HIM! Love ya!

    • Thanks Yolanda, I appreciate and value your friendship as well. I’m thankful for my brothers and sisters in Christ who share my journey and who fight the good fight of faith along side of me. God is so amazingly good to us!

Leave a Reply

