“Tuning In”


You will seek me and find me when you search for me with all of your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

So this morning I was on a time constraint to get my exercising done before we headed out the door for my daughters’ piano lessons.  I couldn’t find my i-pod anywhere and I was in a hurry so I grabbed my younger daughter’s mp-3 player and headed out to the garage to get on the treadmill.  There is something seriously wrong with something that goes round and round and takes you nowhere, just saying!

I started scrolling down through her playlist for something upbeat to exercise to.  Let’s see, there was plenty of slower music, some veggies tales worship, and oh, Britt Nicole.  Ok then, Britt Nicole, I guess it would have to be.  Not exactly my choice for a pleasant worship/exercise time but I figured it would have to do. 

As I continued to run on that dreaded machine, I had some serious “Love flowing through my headphones.”  As I was partially singing along and worshiping, Britt’s songs were ministering to me in a way that I thought not possible.  God’s truths intertwined in the music, it was powerful and I was being blessed.

Now don’t get me wrong, I think Britt Nicole is a fabulous young lady.  I was privileged to go to one of her concerts with my three daughters here at a local church. My daughters, particularly my younger two love Britt Nicole.   They are big fans, but her style of music would not be my top choice. 

This reminded me of how often do we let pride, judgment and/or our preconceived perceptions of people or things determined how we will “listen to” or “hear” what God has to “say” to or show to us.  God always amazes me because he is unconventional.  We see that everything Jesus did in his time here on earth was in an “unconventional way.”  That’s why the Pharisee’s and religious leaders rejected him.  Even though Jesus was standing right in front of them, they could not see Him because they were blinded by their judgement. 

Who knew that some exercise, Britt Nicole and time with God would yield to me yet another lesson.  God has had to teach me this lesson time and time again.  I’m so thankful he is so patient and gracious with me.  As I find myself working on seeking him more, he shows me that he is found in the most unlikely of places and the “key” is, I am reminded that I need to be continually looking!  I’m so thankful for the reminders that God sends my way.  He is so good to us!

One thought on ““Tuning In”

  1. Lavonne Powell says:

    I LOVE this post Jenny. I used to be quite traditional and pretty narrow..but the older I get the more I realize you can’t (or wouldn’t want to) put God in a box..OR His kids!! He loves to surprise us. Also, in raising my kids (some of whom would NOT fit in the classic “Christian Young Person” box) I found that you REALLY can’t judge a book or people by their cover. Some of the most delightful people came in the most unorthodox boxes!!! And..some of the people who looked the “most acceptable” weren’t true or all that nice. Some of my favorite people are the most “unique” and interesting!! The more keep our hearts open the more God will fill it with such delights!!!

Leave a Reply

