The “Key” to Contentment


Last night I woke in the middle of the night and I couldn’t fall back asleep.  So I wandered out of bed into the living room and plopped myself on the couch next to our “still up” Christmas tree.  Unlike some people, who take the tree down immediately after Christmas, I tend to like to enjoy mine for as long as possible.  That is, as long as the needles from the tree are not falling everywhere.  I love the smell of a fresh tree, the beauty of the lights, and the memories from ornaments of past years.  So yes, I’m never super eager to take it down.  My motto is . . . “as long as its gone before the New Year.”

As I sat there in the darkness of the night, I gazed up at the beautifully lit tree.  A new ornament I had received from my daughter glistened and glimmered in the soft but brilliant light.  This ornament is a “golden key.”  My daughter purchased it for me from her “merit store” at school as a Christmas gift.   The key ornament is “old fashion”  in shape and it is golden in color and it’s all glittery and shimmery.  The thing is, this ornament is very special to me.  One of the reasons of course, is because it’s from my daughter, and the other is because it reminds me of JESUS.  The reason it reminds me of Jesus is because HE really is the answer and the “key” to this thing we call “life.”

Some people spend their entire lives searching for happiness and contentment.  They try filling their lives with “stuff” they can accumulate only to find out that more and more stuff is never enough. Or they think finding the “right person” or having a “large bank account” will help bring them bring the happiness they are so desperately looking for.  And yet, sadly enough other people turn to drugs, alcohol or other addictions to mask the emptiness they feel inside.

God created each of us with the “need” for him.  No amount of wealth, things, people, or masking addictions will ever fill something that God created for the sole purpose of himself.  Yes, Jesus is the “key” for every longing heart.  He alone can bring the true peace and joy we are so desperately searching for. 

Here’s a little quote which I think pretty well sums up contentment for man . . . As a rule, man’s a fool.  When he’s hot, he wants it cool.  When he’s cool, he wants it hot.  Always wanting what is not.   It’s so true!  I don’t know this side of heaven that I will ever be “fully” content, because my soul longs to be with my creator.  In Hebrews 13: 5. . . we are told to be content with such things we have because God said that he will never leave us or forsake us.  While I can enjoy the daily blessings he gives me in this life, I long for heaven, my true home.  This life is but a passing journey, but heaven with my Savior, that is where I will find “true contentment!”

If your reading this and you’ve never met Jesus in a personal and relational way, I pray you would do so today.  God desires for you to know him and give you a real reason for living.   It’s not about religiosity.  It’s about knowing God, your creator and being known by him.  It’s not about living for today, but living for eternity and knowing with assurance, that heaven is your home.  God provided the way for us to live with him forever, by sending his son Jesus to die for our sins.  We can never earn our way to heaven, we are sinners by nature and we will never be good enough!  That’s why Jesus had to die for us!  Salvation is his free gift to us, all we have to do is ask.  Yes, it’s that simple!  Admit you’re a sinner, and ask God to rule and reign in your life,  Your “new life”  in him will begin immediately!  Romans 10:9-10 says . . .If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.  For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.  Get to know God by reading the bible and by praying to him.  How better of a way to get to know a person than by talking to them and reading their “love letters” (the bible) to you!

So I’ve decided that when I do get around to taking the tree down in the next few days, that I’m going to leave my key ornament out and hang it somewhere visable.  This will be a reminder to myself (because I do need reminders) that this is not my home and that “Jesus is the Key!”

Deuteronomy 30:20 . . . You can make this choice by loving the Lord your God, obeying him, and committing yourself firmly to him.  This is the key to your life.

Proverbs 4:13 . . . Take hold of my instructions; don’t let them go.  Guard them, for they are the key to life.

Matthew 16:19 . . . And I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of Heaven.  Whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in heaven, and whatever you permit here on earth will be permitted in heaven.

Father God thank you that you are the key to this life.  You open the door to eternal life with you.  Thank you for your work on the cross on my behalf.  I love you, thank you for your goodness to me.  All glory and praise be to you my King! AMEN

2 thoughts on “The “Key” to Contentment

  1. Lovely! I was hoping you were going to leave the key out when I started reading! 🙂

  2. rbodenstab says:

    Very inspiring. I too was hoping you were going to leave the KEY out!

Leave a Reply

