Hungry, again?


I’ve often times wondered why God would have designed us to eat so many times throughout the day. Funny thought huh? We as busy people know that we often spend a good part of our time preparing and then cleaning up after meals. I’d say things like . . . Why couldn’t God have made us to fuel up once and then be good for the day so we could spend our time on things “we” deem as more important. Notice the italics around the “we.” I do believe God always has a much better plan than “we” do.

But dwelling on this thought has made me come to realize that just as we need nourishment throughout the day to keep our blood sugar levels at an even keel for optimum daily functioning, we also need to feed on God’s word and practice being in his presence throughout our day. Then an “Aha” moment for me, that maybe after all, this is God’s reminder to us of our continual (moment by moment) need for him. It says in John 6:35 . . . I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. And then in John 6:38 he repeats . . .I AM the bread of life.

Just as God provided nourishment (physical and spiritual) for the Israelites their forty years in the desert, so he provides this same life-sustaining nourishment for us today! It says in Deuteronomy 8:3 . . . He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.

I know the best thing I’ve ever done is start a daily discipline of spending time in God’s word. If you were like me, and were not raised having these disciplines, they often times can be very hard to start and continue. But if we seek God and ask for his help, he can help us make reading his word part of our daily routine. And what better thing can we do for our children than help them to start this daily discipline for themselves, spending their own personal time with their Savior.

Equally as important as reading his word is spending time in prayer, talking to God. I often times hear people say things like, God feels so far away or I don’t feel his presence in my life. The bible promises us in the beginning of James 4: 8 . . . Draw near to God and he will draw near to you.  This verse implies that we have to make an effort on our part. In the past I’ve made statements like . . . “well I don’t need to pray, God already knows everything.” That there is just the point. God does know everything, and he wants us to “come” (the action on our part) to HIM and pour out our hearts to him so that he can fill us with himself, his thoughts, his desires. Prayer and meditation on God’s word is a two-way communication. Yes, sometimes we need to stop talking so that we can listen. With prayer comes an emptying of self so that God can fill us with himself.

So every time we go to eat, let that be a physical reminder to us of God’s presence and provision in our lives. To continually be in God’s presence takes lots of practice, but that is what he desires for each of us. I am still far off from this mark, but as I make strides towards him, he in turn blesses and makes his presence known in my daily happenings.

Lord Jesus I pray that we may we hunger and thirst for you. For we are dry and parched without you. Thank you for providing the daily sustenance we need for our needy souls. Help us to seek you first so that you may guide and direct our daily lives. Help us to yearn to be dependent upon you. The world offers us a different message of being self-reliant, but your desire is totally the opposite. Give us that desire, Lord Jesus I pray. Help us to be a faithful people, faithful to read your word, faithful to do your will! AMEN

2 thoughts on “Hungry, again?

  1. rbodenstab says:

    Jenny,
    You have a flavor for taking the daily things in life, eating, and transform them into a recipe for loving God! I pray that even as I hunger and thirst for physical nourishment, even greater that I would desire His presence and the nourishment He gives me for my soul!

    ~Roger

  2. Cheryl Ochoa says:

    Dear Jenny,
    What a beautiful message! Did you have any idea that Pastor Dave’s teaching would go hand and hand with what God gave you? The Holy Spirit is amazing as He speaks to each of us separately, but with a weaving together. I have experienced that over and over. Thank you for taking the time to put into words what He’s doing in my heart as well. You are such a beautiful expression of part of the Body of Christ. I’m so blessed to know you!
    Love,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

